Monday, April 11, 2011

Piano Jazz Finals

The Jazz Fellowship Awards will be decided Saturday (16 April) in the Athenaeum, 401 East Michigan Street, Indianapolis. The finals in the competition, sponsored by the American Pianists Association (APA), begin at 7:30 p.m.

The evening will feature performances by the five finalists with Grammy Award winning jazz singer, Dee Dee Bridgewater, and the Buselli-Wallarab Jazz Orchestra.

The five Finalists are Emmet Cohen (Miami, age 20), Zach Lapidus (Indianapolis, age 24), Glenn Zaleski (New York City, age 23), Aaron Diehl (New York City, age 25) and Jeremy Siskind (New York City, age 24). They will compete for the largest jazz prize in the world, $50,000, and the title of 2011 Cole Porter Fellow in Jazz of the APA.

Tickets for the finals are $35. For more information about the American Pianists Association or to purchase tickets, go online, or call 317:940-9945.

No comments: