Thursday, May 7, 2009

Dreaming in Vivid Color: Opening Reception

The opening reception for "Dreaming in Vivid Color" is tomorrow (8 May), in conjunction with the Broad Ripple Spring Gallery Tour.

The reception is from 6-8 p.m. in the Indianapolis Art Center, 820 East 67th Street, Indianapolis, where the exhibition will be on display through 21 June.

It includes work from the 50 visual, performing and literary artists who make up the most recent round of the Arts Council's Creative Renewal Arts Fellows. Works include painting, sculpture, photography, printmaking, ceramics and jewelry as well as special performances throughout the evening.

The Arts Council of Indianapolis is celebrating the 10th anniversary of the Creative Renewal Arts Fellowship program. Originally conceived as a renewal opportunity similar to an academic sabbatical, this groundbreaking initiative offers 40 artists and arts administrators the opportunity to renew and refresh their creativity through a two-year fellowship with a cash award of $10,000 each. Since the program's inception, 250 artists and administrators have been awarded fellowships through this program. The Arts Council of Indianapolis has awarded more than $1.8 million in direct-dollar support to artists and administrators through this program! The program is funded by a grant to the Arts Council through the extraordinary generosity of Lilly Endowment Inc.

The 2007 - 2008 Arts Council of Indianapolis Creative Renewal Arts Fellows are:

Nataly North-Lowder
Kenoth Shane Patton
Iris Rosa

Candace Denning
Barb Shoup
David Shumate

Media Arts
Jim Simmons
Mark Williams

Becky Archibald
Anthony Artis
Shannon Forsell
Henry Leck
Ju Fang Liu
Michael Schelle
Michael Strauss
José Valencia

David Anderson
James Leagre
Robert Neal

Visual Art
Mason Archie
Kyle Crossland
Douglas David
Rob Day
James Willie Faust
Izabella Kowalewska-Cole
Tim Kennedy
Judith G. Levy
Caroline Mecklin
Jay Parnell
Melissa Parrott
Jamie Pawlus
William Potter
Kyle Ragsdale
William Rasdell
Anne Robinson
Betty Scarpino
Dee Schaad
M. Jan Schroeder
Jari Sheese
Phillip Tennant
Dante Ventresca

Arts Administration
Carol Baker, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
Keesha Dixon, Asante Children's Theatre
Hadley Fruits, Indianapolis Museum of Art
Christy Martin, Indiana Repertory Theatre
James Nottage, Eiteljorg Museum
Thomas Robertson, Phoenix Theatre
David Russick, Indianapolis Museum of Art
John Vanausdall, Eiteljorg Museum
Susan Zurbuchen, Butler University

1 comment:

Susan Davis said...

I attended this event after reading about it on your blog. I really enjoyed it. Thanks for the tip.